Onion Marmalade Tartlets

So this onion challenge that is going around made me start thinking…I have not really been posting much…kind of feel like I am so out of touch with the food world…I am going to make a conscious effort to post more delicious recipes. I am so inspired by you all…I just need t share things…

So today…being my day off…I thought why not play around a little…it’s been WAY to long since I have just gone on my own little buzz and created…

Tonight….starting with Onion Tartlets…

Here is what I did…
Firstly I made an onion marmalade…
Onion marmalade:
Onions (chopped pole to pole)
Brandy
Mustard
Sugar
Butter

Fry off the onions in the butter, sprinkle sugar over, add mustard and cover the onions in brandy. Let Brandy reduce until the liquid turns nice and sticky. Careful in the reduction process as once you get to a certain point, you need to keep giving it a good stir, it takes seconds for it to burn, so watch it nicely.

Now that you have your onion marmalade, I did the following
Puff pastry (home made or store bought)
Green Fig Preserve
Camembert
Mint

Preheat your oven to 200C

I used my cookie cutters and made a little hollow tower that could stuff all the ingredients in…but how you present it is all your own choice.

Blind bake your pastry cases

Build your tartlet inside pastry case.
Onion Marmalade at the bottom, freshly chopped mint, little camembert, took a whole fig and cut it open, and stuffed it with more camembert, baked for a little longer until the camembert is softened, remove from oven and drizzle some of the syrup from the fig preserve and a few top with crushed cashews, garnish with a mint leaf.

Sorry the photos are really bad…but we all know how I am not good at this…

Accompanying my Onion Tartlet, I had some left over Puff Pastry, so I rolled it out, spread some olives and sundried tomatoes over, grated some mozzarella cheese and rolled it up, baked it with my tartlets. I made it very rustic, it was more of an after thought than a planned out idea…but isn’t that how all chefs work?

Main course …Honey Mustard Chicken Wraps filled with lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, sprouts, roasted peppers, chicken and feta, served with home made fries….

Followed by Apple Crumble for dessert…

Now…the only reason I made apple crumble was that a great friend of mine arrived this morning at my house with coffee and apples. I love that! So I immediately started thinking about all the things that I could do…I asked Rope if he likes Apple Pie and he went in the Crumble direction…so I went ahead and made Apple Crumble for dessert…but that recipe to follow another time.

2 thoughts on “Onion Marmalade Tartlets

Leave a Reply

