Citrus Spiced Butternut Soup

I love my Rooibos infused butternut soup, but again, I wanted something different, and with this cold weather soup was definitely on the cards.  Just what soup was the question.  I know my husband loves butternut soup, this mixed with my small love affair I am having with butternut at the moment, we were destined to eat butternut soup while the wind howls outside and the rains fall which is causing flood warnings in our little town.

I always roast my vegetables when making a soup, I just love that roasted flavour that is added, I find that you get a different depth with your soup.  This version of my butternut soup is a slight adaptation that I would make when I worked for my father.

Citrus Spiced Butternut Soup

1kg Butternut, cubed
1bunch of spring onions, cut roughly
1 large potato peeled and cubed
1 tbsp ground ginger
1 tsp ground cinnamon
2 cloves garlic
thyme, a few springs
seasoning
olive oil
2 Clemengolds or 1 large orange
1 tsp mother in laws tongue masala
10 cardamon pods
2 cups stock, I used beef, but feel free to use vegetable or chicken
fresh Cream
2 tbsp Roasted pumpkin seeds

Preheat  your oven at 180° C, in a roasting try place the cubed butternut, potato and spring onions.
Drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle the ground ginger and season, add the garlic and thyme and toss through to coat with the oil.
Roast for an hour.
Crush the cardamom pods in a mortar & pestal, removed the green husky outer skips and only use the black seeds inside.  Crush with the masala mix until you have a fine powder
Place the roasted butternut in a large pot over medium heat, add the clemengolds (just make sure you have removed the pips), the spices and blend with a handheld blender.
When nice and smooth, add the stock and cook out for a few minutes, finish off with 500 ml of cream and serve piping hot for these cold wintery nights we are having!

Serve with fresh bread, or why not a delicious quesadilla?