Walsh Rarebit with a twist – Blushing Hot Walsh Buck Rarebit

I was laying in bed reading this morning, wind howling outside, I just new that the sun is still hiding, not yet ready to come out for the Spring to officially begin.  I wanted something nice, I didn’t know what, so I carried on reading my love story of the 3rd brother finally finding love when it just hit me…Walsh Rarebit.  I had a slight debate with myself…get out of bed or make Walsh Rarebit, tough one, nice, warm and cozy in bed, or being in my kitchen…I jumped out of bed and got ready to fill my need of this classic.

Walsh Rarebit is actually a supper, or a pub grub kind of meal, however I remember I use to have a boss who enjoyed it for breakfast…so why not meet in the middle…brunch!

So what is Walsh Rarebit you ask…well to keep it simple, it’s cheese sauce on toast with a cheese crust…now add bacon or turkey and you have a Hot Brown, add a poached egg and you have a Buck Rarebit. Then we have the Blushing Rarebit which brings tomato soup into the mix.  There are so many different variants of this dish, so why not explore the possibilities.

I call it…Blushing Hot Walsh Buck Rarebit

First off, you need to make a cheese sauce.  I kept it simple

250ml milk
2 cardamom pods
1 clove
black pepper
salt
50g grated cheddar cheese
1 tsp English mustard
a few drops worcestershire sauce
dash of white wine
1 tsp paprika
25g flour
olive oil

In a pot, place milk, cardamom & clove over a medium heat.  Bring to a simmer. Remove cardamom & clove.

Make a paste from the flour and olive oil.  You are looking for a glue like consistency, pour into milk and whisk.  Do not stop whisking until you have thickened the milk.

Add mustard, paprika, wine, worcestershire sauce and cheddar cheese. Set aside.

Now you will need:

2 slices Bacon, fried off
2 large eggs
2 slices of bread (I would suggest baguette or ciabatta –  I used left over from the bread I baked, see recipe here)
Fresh tomatoes, sliced
Grated cheddar cheese

Preheat your oven to grill, you want a nice hot oven that can give you a great cheese crust

Toast your bread, spread a layer of the cheese sauce over the surface
Layer with sliced tomatoes, season with salt & pepper
Layer of bacon, and a nice dollop of your cheese sauce again.  Add grated cheddar over and place in oven until nice and crisp.

Poach your eggs while you wait for your cheese to melt.
Heat some of the cheese sauce to a pouring consistency
Remove your toast from the oven, place your poached eggs on top and drizzle with cheese sauce.

Place a little mixed greens and serve nice and hot.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

