the dinner we’ll be eating…wine that we’ll be drinking…and kinky thoughts I’m thinking…

So I am thinking about dinner tonight…well to be honest, I am always thinking about food, its like constantly running through my head, and I thought I would share a beautiful, easy and oh so quick meal idea with you all.  Maybe give you some ideas for dinner…or lunch…

One of the first questions I have to ask when I am doing any form of function is of course…do you have any dietary restrictions, which is then followed by…do you have any allergies.  So today, I thought I would do a basic vegetarian dish, and then of course give the option of meat…as lets face it…I hear every day of my life how South African men need meat 3 times a day!

I call this  my Pasta Primavera

First decide what vegetables you would like to use, I normally go through my fridge and see what is laying around.  I like the following in (but please feel free to improvise, as that is what makes a great chef!)

Depending on how many you wish to served, I cater anywhere from 2 people to180 people, so really just estimate

You will need:

Pasta of choice (I like Tagliatelle, or Angel Hair, or Spaghetti)

Vegetables (equal amounts of):

Butternuts
Carrots
Cherry tomatoes
Mushrooms
Green, Yellow & Red peppers
Onions

Garlic
Olive oil
Balsamic vinegar
Salt
Pepper
Mixed herbs (fresh or dry)

Method:

Julienne butternuts, peppers and carrots so they are the same size
Cut cherry tomatoes in half
Cut Mushrooms into quarters
Peeled and cut onions

Bring pasta water to a boil (salt and oil to water before you throw the pasta in)

Put pasta in boiling water, cook to al dente stage

In a really hot pan, add olive oil

Add vegetables in the following order, give about 1 – 2 mins time period between adding the next vegetable.  You want to make sure your vegetables are also done al dente
Onions & crushed garlic (careful to not burn the garlic as that will give a very bitter taste)
Butternuts & carrots
Mushrooms
Peppers

Switch off heat

Add cherry tomatoes

Add balsamic vinegar, mixed herbs, salt and pepper to taste

Cover pan and let rest for about 5 mins

By covering the pan, you are allowing the vegetables to create the most beautiful infused flavors!

If you wish to add meat, I suggest a grilled chicken breast.  Marinate it with a olive oil, lemon juice, mixed herbs, salt and pepper.

Happy cooking!!!

love & bubbles

iky

Terms:
In cooking, the adjective al dente describes pasta and (less commonly) rice that has been cooked to be edible but still firm, or vegetables that are cooked to the “tender crisp” phase – still offering resistance to the bite, but cooked through. It is often considered to be the ideal form of cooked pasta.. The term comes from Italian where it means “to the tooth,” or “to the bite,” referring to the need to chew the pasta due to its firmness.
To julienne a vegetable or other ingredient is to cut it into long thin matchstick-sized strips 1/16th to 1/8th of an inch wide and 2-3 inches long. To julienne a carrot, first cut it into cylindrical sections of the desired length. Trim each section so that the sides are straight and right-angled (almost like a cuboid). Slice into flat panels of desired width. Stack these panels and slice evenly into matchsticks


Leave a Reply

