ostrich salad

Here is the ostrich salad I made tonight…sorry…no picture! Everyone was way to excited to taste, I couldn’t get my camera fast enough.

You need you basic salad ingredients – lettuce, tomato, cucumber, red betters, yellow peppers, carrots, I put in some cheese and pineapple too. You can put anything in really, I added some boiled egg, why not?!?
Place ostrich in a really hot pan (must be really hot so your meat doesn’t toughen up), brown both sides, in a little olive oil, salt & pepper to taste, mixed herbs (fresh or dried) and a splash of balsamic vinegar. Place pan in preheated oven (180 degrees) for about 15 minutes. I like it medium rare, just increase the time period.

Remove from oven and let cool, cut into strips, you choose the required thickness.

I had balsamic vinaigrette with this, but again, you can use whatever salad dressing you like.

It’s really so simple, the only trick really is to not let the ostrich get tough, which is so easy to do with any meat really. The heat has to be right. Tomorrow night I am thinking of a chicken salad, which my famous chicken salad dressing…but more about that tomorrow.

I also did cuppaccino muffins tonight while waiting for the meat to cool…and let me tell you, divine!! Well, I didn’t eat any, as I am still detoxing, but my dad says….delicious…and let me tell you, he is a tough cookie to please!

love & bubbles
iky

Leave a Reply

