Lemon & Basil Sorbet

Lemon & Basil Sorbet

3/4 cup water
About 1 cup sugar (or less for more of the tart taste)
Grated zest of 2 lemons
1 & 3/4 cups freshly squeezed lemon juice
Basil – finely chopped (about10 leaves)
Egg white beaten
Lemon shells optional (to serve)

Boil water, sugar, and lemon zest in a pan
Stirring until the sugar has dissolved – (about 5 min).
Cool, chill, add the lemon juice. You can make without an ice cream machine – pour mixture into flat freezer tray, allow to partly freezing, beat to break up the ice crystals every now and then.
The more you break it up the smoother it will be.
When partially frozen mix in egg white thoroughly.
Scoop sorbet into lemon shells, decorate with basil leaves, and serve

It is such a stunning day outside today, I thought this would be delicious for a day like today, or a great recipe for summer that is on its way. When I was much younger, and watched way to much cooking channel, I saw Jamie do this once, and I have since then done this many times, just adapted the recipe to suit me, as I do not have an ice cream machine, and R wont buy me one…I tried begging and pleading my case, describing in great detail all the fun things I could be making with my ice cream machine, and how quick and easy it would be…he wouldn’t budge. Maybe if I am really sweet, R will give it to me for Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

