Ostrich Liver Pate

I know as a chef, you should be willing to eat anything…for me…liver (any internal organ really) and raw oysters are the two things that makes me break out into a cold sweat. Now I can happily eat liver pate, and this one…WOW WEE! It is absolutely divine. I got this recipe from my trainee; obviously tweaked it here and there, and this is what I got!

Ostrich Liver Pate

30ml butter
500g liver, cleaned and roughly chopped
250g brown mushrooms, roughly chopped
1 onion, roughly chopped
125ml Klipdrift
4 cloves garlic finely chopped
2ml fennel
Tabasco sauce to taste
200g butter at room temp
Handful of fresh mixed herbs

Sauté onions and mushrooms in butter, remove and set aside

Brown the liver, flambé with brandy and cook until lightly pink inside

Add onions and mushroom mixture; add garlic, fennel and Tabasco.

Place in a blender, with butter, until smooth, add mixed herbs, blend lightly and chill, let it stand over night.

I like to roll it in plastic and place it into the fridge, that way you have perfect slices when you serve. You can even take this one further and use this mixture for a Terrine, when you mold it, place a little capaccio over, and cocktail sausages inside. I also did this with chicken liver.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

