Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are just so amazingly light, and moist….they just melt in your mouth…YUM!

Chocolate cupcakes

1 cup butter
1 cup dark brown sugar
½ cup caster sugar
3 eggs
2 cups cake flour
½ tsp salt
1 cup cocoa powder
2 tbsp coffee granules ( I used a special blend of filter coffee that my coffee guy mixes for me)
1 ½ cups milk
2 tsp vanilla essence

Preheat oven to 190C (It is important to place the cupcakes into a really hot oven)
Sift all the dry ingredients twice, set aside
Mix the milk & vanilla together and set aside
Beat butter and sugar until creamy and smooth, and light in colour.
Beat in eggs one at a time
Slowly add about 1/3 of the dry mixture to the butter mixture, followed by half the milk mixture. Beat well. Repeat until all the ingredients are incorporated.
Line muffin tray with cupcake liners, fill each cup about 2/3 full.
Reduce heat of oven to 170C, and place tray in oven, do not let the muffin tray touch the sides of the oven.

This was baked in my home oven, so it took about 25 – 30 minutes to bake.

This mixture makes about 12 – 16 cupcakes, depending on how big you want them.

I iced my cupcakes with just plain “pink” icing and I also did a few with a white chocolate mousse icing, which was a total winner.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Oooh now these cupcakes is more my thing. Thx for sharing.
    What is “white chocolate mousse icing”.?
    I am sure I could eat that as is.

Leave a Reply

