Onion, bacon, sage and Gorgonzola Tart

Trying to catch up with Inspiration’s challenges, I know I am slacking behind, its just been a very crazy time for me…today I did the tart challenges…firstly, I did the sweet tart challenge when I made a Citrus Curd Sweet Pastry Tart, and now, with the savory tart challenge, I made the following…

Onion, bacon, sage and Gorgonzola Tart…

BUT!!!

You guys all are all very much aware of how I don’t do the recipe thing very well, unless it’s baking, and then of course I use the “proper” measurements. When it comes to cooking, I tend to just throw things together, until I get my end result. So sorry again!!

For the crust:
(I used the same crust as I did for my sweet tart, I just omitted the sugar)

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)
1 large egg, lightly beaten

Method

Double sift the flour and salt, set aside
Put the butter in a mixer and beat until softened
Bit by bit add the beaten egg, beating just until incorporated. (beat at a low speed, you do not want to over mix, otherwise your butter will separate)
Add flour all at once and mix just until it forms a ball. (don’t over mix, you don’t want the pastry hard when baked)
Flatten dough into disk, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate for about 30 minutes

For the filling

Onion – chopped
Bacon – chopped
Sugar
Salt
Balsamic vinegar
Fresh Sage – finely chopped
Large egg
Double thick cream
Simonzola cheese
Mozzarella cheese
Olive oil

Fry up the onions in the olive oil until translucent, add the bacon, fry up, season with salt & pepper
Add a splash of balsamic vinegar (I used my Verleque Mushroom Vinaigrette)
Toss in some fresh sage, remove from heat
Crumble the Simonzola cheese into mixture

Place mixture into pastry crusts that have been baked blind.

Top with grated mozzarella cheese

Mix cream and eggs together, and pour over mixture, place in the oven for 10 minutes

4 thoughts on “Onion, bacon, sage and Gorgonzola Tart

  1. Pingback: Malva Pudding Cupcakes « there is a pretty little thing, waiting for The King, down in the jungle room…

  2. Pingback: The savoury tart challenge « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

