Malva Pudding Cupcakes

Yesterday I managed to catch up on some of the challenges that Lavender & Lime set out for the fellow bloggers…I did a Citrus Curd Sweet Pastry Tart followed by a Onion, Bacon, Sage and Gorganzola Tart…just as I was posting, an email came through that a new challenge has already been set out! The new challenge – Malva Pudding. When I saw it, I knew immediately what I wanted to do!

Now…baking is not my strong point…I will never classify myself as a pastry chef…but because its my weakness in the kitchen, I tend to want to do more and more of it, to practice…I believe its important to be able to do every aspect within the kitchen environment.

Malva pudding…and to but this politely…is definitely not my favorite thing to make…or eat…I find it boring and bland…and every second restaurant and their mother has this one their menu…and 9 out of 10 times, it’s the one you get from the supplier, all you have to do in microwave it for 1 minute, through some cream or custard on it and vola. I have gone out of my way to try and test and see what works…although malva pudding is pretty much the same, no matter how you make it…I find that I need to somehow make it less boring…and bring some spunk to a boring old classic…and with that thought in mind, I made:

Malva Pudding Cupcakes

The Cupcakes

1 egg
1 cup self raising flour
1 cup caster sugar
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 cup milk
4 tsp melted butter
1 tsp white wine vinegar
4 tbsp apricot jam

Preheat the oven to 170 C and grease a muffin try (I made 6 large ones, or you can make 12 small ones)

Cream egg and sugar together until pale, thick and fluffy

Sift flour and bicarb together

Add half milk and half flour to the egg mixture, blend well

Add remaining flour and milk to egg mixture, mix until smooth

Add melted butter, vinegar and 2 tbsp apricot jam to mixture

Divide the batter between the muffin holes. You looking at filling it about half to 2/3rds

Bake for 30 minutes

Remove from oven, poke holes in with a skewer stick, and pour the sauce over the top. Let cool. I made a hole in the middle and filled it with more apricot jam for extra taste.

Sauce

1 cup cream
100 g unsalted butter
125g sugar
30ml brandy

Melt butter in a hot sauce pan over a low heat
Add sugar and mix well
Add brandy, and mix well until bubbles form
Add cream, and mix until smooth

Icing

Cream
Vanilla extract
Icing sugar (depends how sweet you want it – omit this if you don’t like to sweet)

Whip cream until soft peaks form
Fold in the icing sugar and vanilla extract.

3 thoughts on “Malva Pudding Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: The Malva Pudding Challenge « Lavender and Lime

Leave a Reply

