Organic Gooseberry & Ginger Sorbet

I am always fascinated by frozen desserts. And let me tell you, this year on my Christmas wishlist is a ice cream maker! The things I can get up to! Woowheee!

Yesterday I did a trio of sorbets, and this one stood out the most for me.

We get these absolutely divine organic gooseberries from our local organic farm, which just blows your mind! And to stay true to my style, I had to drink some alcohol into the mix! But it is optional!

So without further ado…here is what I did!

Organic Gooseberry & Ginger Sorbet

2kgs organic gooseberries
300g caster sugar
Fresh ginger, peeled and roughtly chopped
Enough water to cover the gooseberries
Fresh lemon juice
15ml Tequilla (optional)

Place gooseberries, water, ginger and sugar in a saucepan over a medium heat.

Bring to a boil. You want the gooseberries to just be soft enough that can mash them lightly.

Strain the liquid off and let cool.

Place gooseberries in a blender, add lemon juice and tequilla.

Place in a steel bowl, cover and place into the freezer.

Every hour just take a fork and break up the mixture.

You need to prepare this at least a day before as you need time for it to chill.

One thought on “Organic Gooseberry & Ginger Sorbet

Leave a Reply

