Avial Vegetable Curry

I call it my Avial Curry. Avial just being the part of India which it originated. I find this to be one of my favorite curries of all times, and it can double up as a Meatless Monday Meal.

Now keep in mind that I do this on a scale for 200 pax…you might want to just go on feel, but this is more of less what I do…

The sauce:

500ml Plain Yoghurt
2L Coconut crème
1 tbsp Cumin Seeds
5 Cloves
2 tbsp Crushed Garlic
1 tbsp Crushed Ginger
2 Onions
Ghee for frying

Salt to taste
Green Chilies to taste

Roast your cumin seeds and cloves and ground
Heat a saucepan, fry off onions, garlic and ginger, and add spices
Add the yoghurt and coconut crème, season and add chilies if using.

Turn head down to a low temperature and let the sauce simmer for about an hour. You are really looking to cook out the acidity of the yoghurt and let it blend beautifully with the coconut crème.

Then what I do is I see what colors of vegetables I have in the fridge. You can use anything really, I used:

Butternut
Red pepper
Yellow Pepper
Green pepper
Cauliflower
Broccoli
Carrots
Sugar snaps

Fry off your harder vegetables first in a little ghee, then add the sauce once the vegetables have softened, bring to a simmer and then ad your sauce. Turn off and add the peppers and sugar snaps.

Serve with basmatic rice and Naan breads. I absolutely love it! It’s a light, refreshing curry, with not to much of a bite, but the best part of all is you can make it as hot as you like.

One thought on “Avial Vegetable Curry

  1. One of these fine day I am going to HAVE TO come and cook with you angel! I just love big big pots of food – such a size girl! – this sounds awesome all coconutty and smooth and the colour is just so pleasing to my Heyes!!! Have an awesome awesome day xxxx jan

Leave a Reply

