Homemade Pizza

Let’s face it…if you want pizza you have two options…Italy or America. I have not had the opportunity to go to Italy, so where did I learn all about Pizza…the good old USA.
Pizza was always a quick dinner, if the kids were well behaved, or once Havdalah was done on a Saturday night, pizza was for dinner, and always homemade.

Then of course you had all those awesome pizza joints in the USA. The first time I had a slice of New York Pizza, I was blown away!! One slice was equivalent to a small pizza here in SA, then of course Chicago Deep Dish Pizza…typical American date night…very interesting concept…pizza pie. The most unusual pizza I have ever had was pizza with mashed potatoes…I had to try it just because it was so different!

We have been playing with Pizza ideas in the kitchen at work, so tonight, when I got off early, I decided that homemade pizza was on the cards. My view from my kitchen at home.

Justin was playing golf with his dad, so I quickly put together a few toppings…when he arrived home we had wine and sushi before the Homemade Pizza making was commenced.

For the Dough:
This is a Jamie Oliver recipe. You can find that here.
Set your dough aside in a warm spot to rise.

For the Tomato Sauce

This to me is where any great pizza starts…you have to get this right! You are looking for a rich, velvet tomato sauce.
1 Onion
1 tin Whole Peeled Tomatoes
3 Fresh Tomatoes
Crushed Garlic
Thyme
Parsley
Oregano

Fry off you onions and garlic, add your tomatoes and herbs. Bring to a boil and let simmer on a low heat for about half an hour. With a stick blender, blitz up your sauce, let cook for a further 45 minutes to an hour. A good tomato sauce is one that is cooked for a long period of time. Set aside

The best part is that you can make a pot full and just freeze it in smaller bags for when you want to use again.
For the toppings, I decided to go with the following on the first one:
Green fig preserve, camembert, crispy bacon and white cheddar
The second one, I fried off some mushrooms, accompanied by peppadews, feta, and steak strips, white cheddar and spring onions

Preheat your oven on its hottest setting. Place your baking try in the oven, you want it piping hot!

Once you are ready, roll out your dough, and place on your hot baking tray. Place in oven for about 5 minutes. Take out, cover the base with your tomato sauce, and topping, place back in the oven for another 3 – 5 minutes.
Remove and enjoy!

Be creative with your toppings, and the best part about homemade pizza, you can choose exactly what you want and how much of it you want on.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza

  1. Oooooh my hat they look awesome – i love the fact that you didn’t go all poncy and try to get them round. Home – made pizzas in Italy are just like this – we call them maps!!! hahaha xxxx jan

  2. Thanx Jan!! You know by now that my food tends to stay clear from the poncy side of things :p I love good rustic type food, exactly like I would imagine it to be in Italy! Nothing pretentious, just doing what I love! xxxx

Leave a Reply

