5 Days of French Toast Memories

I have been looking for a new challenge to do, I have been given a few suggestions, and even a suggestion of drawing again, but right now my time is a little limited. Keeping in true “Ang style”, I started working on this challenge in a rather busy week, but I know I can keep it up…

So let’s get to it…

My motivation for today is: The Key to Life is to have Faith…and have Fun

So to kick off this 5 Days of French Toast Memories started with The Classic

Now lets be honest, this “eggy bread” is all about personal choices…and I will be showing different ways the bring back great memories…

There would be weekend mornings I would get a chance to go in a little later than my normal 6:00am start…and on those mornings, I would pop in to see Mom and Dad, and to add to the great little visit, Dad would always whip up French Toast for me. Mom always called me (and still does!!!) “Daddy’s little brat” because he enjoyed making me a quick breakfast. Still to today, if I go home, he knows…French Toast this way will definitely be on the breakfast cards….and the best part is that it’s so easy, and you don’t have much mess!

French Toast with Cinnamon Sugar
(makes about 4 slices)

2 eggs
1 cup milk
½ tsp vanilla essence
4 slices of bread of choice (white, brown, French loaf, baguette, brioche, challah etc)
1 tbsp cinnamon
3 tbsp white sugar
½ tsp ground ginger

Whisk together the eggs, milk and vanilla essence
Mix together the cinnamon, sugar and ginger
Heat a frying pan over a medium heat
The part where we slightly disagree is whether to use butter or oil to fry off the bread. Dad likes oil, I like to mix butter with the olive oil just to have the two flavors come through.

Soak the bread in the egg mixture for about 15 – 20 seconds on each side, I really like to get the bread soggy.
Fry off until golden brown.
Remove from pan, and while still hot, sprinkle the sugar mixture over.

There you go…quick and easy…no mess no fuss.

Tomorrow…I shall be doing The Favorite French Toast

Leave a Reply

