5 Days of French Toast Memories – Day 2

The Favourite

This is a play on the French Toast on the menu at Kingswood Golf Estate. I love “matches made in heaven” and for me, caramelized banana, bacon and candied pecan nuts are just that…the most strongest memory I have of this French Toast…

January 2010, a long hard season had just passed, I was beyond exhausted, averaging at about 18 – 20 hours a day, pushing myself, and my staff… we were just coming out of that busy season period and things were slowing down, but not quite slow just yet, my trainee was outside setting up my station on the 9th Tee and I was in the kitchen, an order came in, and I got into it, my boss walked in and in true style was pushing my buttons, the more I asked him to just wait, the harder he pushed…as patient as I am, after the 5th time I asked him to stop, I lost it, I finished the French Toast order, called the waiter which was followed by a full blown screaming match that erupted between the two of us. So much so, the pro shop girl came running in, she saw immediately that it was not a good time…that day I walked out. I walked out on the one thing I loved the most in the world…later that day, when both of us had calmed down, and were ready to talk, we both apologised…I went back to my kitchen the next day after a good afternoon rest.

That day, I walked away with 2 very important lessons learnt… firstly, we all have a breaking point where we burn ourselves out, and secondly, never give up on your dream, my heart has never, in my 28 years of existence, felt so broken as when I realised that I walked out on my passion…

These beautiful medley of flavour always remind me of the lessons I learnt that day…along with how fortunate I am to be able to be following my passion, living my dream…and how far I have come in not only my career, but as well as my personal life…

Today’s Inspiration: Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely

French Toast with Bacon, Caramelized Banana and Candied Pecan Nuts, topped with Fudge Ice Cream
(makes 4 slices)

3 egg
1 cup milk
½ tsp vanilla essence
4 slices of Brioche
3 slices of shoulder bacon
Fudge Ice cream
1 banana sliced in two
half a handful of pecan nuts
¼ cup sugar

Whisk together the eggs, milk and vanilla essence
Heat the sugar in a pan until just melted, placed the bananas and pecan nuts in the hot sugar, cover the fruit with the melted sugar until you have a nice caramelized crust forms over it. Remove and set aside to cool and harden
Fry off bacon until crispy
Heat a frying pan over a medium heat
Soak the bread in the egg mixture for about 15 – 20 seconds on each side, I really like to get the bread soggy.
Fry off until golden brown.
Plate, and serve with a nice dollop of ice cream over the top!

Next on the list of 5 Days of French Toast…The Tease French Toast

2 thoughts on “5 Days of French Toast Memories – Day 2

Leave a Reply

