5 Days of French Toast Memories – Day 4

The American Flight

It was mother’s day, 2005, I was on the flight to New York City, the amazing airhostess’s from SAA was offering breakfast, now, not being a bacon & egg kind of girl, the second option was French Toast…I thought wow…lucky me…well, not so lucky me….this is how I was introduced to this French Toast..I opened up my little breakfast container, starving and ready to indulge in my French Toast Happiness, and what did I see…scrambled eggs. My little heart sunk to the bottom of my tummy. SAA’s version of French Toast went something like this…

Nice thick slice of French Toast, crispy bacon, scrambled eggs and a nice healthy drizzle of syrup. I didn’t know what to do with what was in front of me…after contemplating a few options, I decided that I would try it, and surprisingly it was really good. I redid this French Toast, leaving off the syrup as I made it for Justin, but feel free to add it…the eggs and sweetness from the syrup do work!

Inspiration for today…Every great shit starts with a smile

Scrambled Egg French Toast

6 eggs
1 cup milk
1 baguette (I used a rosemary and onion baguette)
3 slices of shoulder bacon
seasoning
golden syrup (optional)
butter
Whisk together 2 eggs and milk
Fry off bacon until crispy
Break the remaining eggs into a bowl and beat lightly.
Heat a frying pan over a medium heat, place a teaspoon of butter in the pan and add the lightly beaten eggs, mix slowly until scrambled eggs are to your liking
Soak the bread in the egg mixture for about 15 – 20 seconds on each side, I really like to get the bread soggy.
Fry off until golden brown over medium heat

Tomorrow…The Show Stopper

Leave a Reply

