5 Days of French Toast Memories – Day 5

The Show Stopper

For me…my ultimate “marriage made in heaven” food combination is green fig, bacon and gorgonzola or camembert. My little heart pumps custard at just the thought of this crossing my lips.

There is this gorgeous restaurant in Humansdorp, Le Chameleon, and let me say, if you are ever in the area, you have to make a stop here! And the best part…on their menu, a version of my show stopper makes a rather sexy appearance. They do this French Toast without the cheese, but I am sure if I begged and pleaded and offered up my first born they will accommodate my simple request. I think its time for a revisit….however, let’s get straight into my recipe.

Inspiration for the day: Enjoy being you, and give others the respect they deserve by allowing them to be themselves (Taken from my friend, Fiona Black)

French Toast with crispy Bacon, Green Fig (cheese optional)

2 eggs
1 cup milk
½ tsp vanilla essence
¼ French loaf cut into slices
Bacon cut into lardons
2 – 3 Green Figs in preserve, cut into 8ths
Gorgonzola (optional)
Maple Syrup
Almonds

Whisk together the eggs, milk and vanilla essence
Fry of bacon until crispy
Soak the French loaf slices in the milk and egg mixture
Heat a frying pan over a medium heat and fry off the bread
Use green figs, syrup and almonds as garnish as you build you Show Stopper

Leave a Reply

