Welcome 2012 and a very special month of January

My first blog for 2012…today is a special day; today we celebrate my lovely soon to be husband, Justin’s, birthday, the first of many we shall celebrate together.

Last year, we were still in our early stages of dating when his birthday came around, I remember I was working an al la cart evening, so I had a late one, he stayed over at my place, I got home with a vanilla cupcake with blue icing in hand, and proceeded to wake him up and sing happy birthday to him…he was not very responsive, and fell right back to sleep. This year I changed my strategy. I did not wake him up at some horrible time of night, I started celebrating with him long before, and I am baking chocolate cupcakes and giving it to him when the sun is out! This year I wrote him something special…and I want to share a small part of it…

You have been everything to me this year, my best friend, my lover, my soul mate, you have held my hand when I was sad, you have joined in my joyous moments, you have been my strength when I couldn’t find the strength you always know is in me, even when I forget it’s there. Thank you, not only for what you do for me, but for who you are, for the person you make me want to be, and for the happiness you bring into my life.

Some people don’t understand my great love for birthdays. My birthday is probably the most special day for me (our wedding day coming on par with it), it’s the one day I put everyone else aside, and I think of only myself, it’s the one day when I allow myself to be selfish, I take great pride in being courteous of others, and to never be selfish, to be patient and kind and take others into consideration, but on my birthday…I put me first. I want to be spoiled rotten from the moment I open my eyes to the moment I go to bed at the end of the day. I even start my celebrations at the beginning of January, and stop and the end.

Now this January is a very special one….Not only do we celebrate Justin’s Birthday today, 7th January, we celebrate my birthday on the 18th, along with Justin’s best friend’s birthday (yes, I shall share my birthday with someone), and we also celebrate our wedding on the 21st January. We are both so very excited.

And now for some interesting facts….

7th January 1984

Brunei becomes the sixth member of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

Bostons Red Sox’s, Jon Lester, is born

18th January 1983

Pump Boys & Dinettes” closes at Princess Theater NYC after 573 performances

Samantha Mumba, Irish singer and actress is born

Bryan Adams, Cuts Like Knife Single is released

The 21st January marks National Hug Day.

Benefits of Hugging (thank you wikipedia)

Studies have shown that human contact has many health benefits. It’s been found that human contact, such as a hug, is essential for healthy social, psychological and physical development. Hugging can also help build a good immune system, decrease the risk of heart disease, and decrease levels of the stress hormone cortisol in women. It’s been shown that a couple who hugs for 20 seconds has higher levels of oxytocin, and that those who were in a loving relationship exhibited a highest increase. According to the American Psychosomatic Society, a hug or 10 minutes of holding hands with a romantic partner can help reduce stress, and its harmful physical effects. In a study, adults who had no contact with people had higher blood pressure and heart rate. Other studies have indicated that the touch of a friend might not be as helpful as the touch of a partner.

2 thoughts on “Welcome 2012 and a very special month of January

Leave a Reply

