Roasted Cumin Beetroot Wrap & healthy eating

I have not really posted much this month, it has been a crazy month, but I do try and do the March Food Photo Challenge, unfortunately, I have to step out of the April challenge as time is a slight challenge.

My mission right now is healthy and as natural as possible, keeping food very simple and basic, incorporating raw ingredients where I can. I am working on the challenge set out by Tandy, I have a few more days!

I watch TV shows like Come Dine With Me and I cringe because even though it’s simple, it’s also bland, which it doesn’t have to be at home. Herbs and spices are so easily available, just a little of something and something can lift a dish so much further.

So back to my healthy eating, I have been thinking a lot about nutrition and what we pollute our bodies with, now don’t get me wrong, I am very guilty of enjoying the bad foods, but at the same time, I do like to keep healthy where I can. I have also started slowly reducing my meat intake, but at the same time, not cutting out my protein completely. I just source it from other things, other than meat. What I have cut down by a good 95% is my wheat intake. I get carbs from sources other than bread.

Roasted Cumin Beetroot Wrap
serves 1

120g Beetroot
1 tsp ground cumin seeds
salt
pepper
fresh garlic
70g Danish feta
lettuce
1 tsp goji berries
1wrap
olive oil spray
balsamic reduction of your choice

I don’t peel my beetroot as all the nutrients sit just under the skin. However feel free to do so. Lightly spray your beetroot, seasoning with salt, pepper, cumin and a little garlic and roast in an oven at 200 for 50 minutes. Set aside to cool

Cut your beetroot into cubes, crumble your feta in, add your roasted pumpkin seeds and goji berries. Lay lettuce out on your wrap and add beetroot mixture, drizzled with balsamic reduction and enjoy.

8 thoughts on “Roasted Cumin Beetroot Wrap & healthy eating

  1. I share your love for beetroot, its always a challenge as my husband doesn’t like it! I don’t make my own wraps, cost wise, it is not really worth it to make your own. The best part is that wraps are so versatile, you can use them for so many things. Sometimes I just roast them and break it up into the salad as croutons.

    • I have indeed, I just like it roasted more, with balsamic vinegar 🙂 I am not against going raw, I just find i to be a big challenge!

Leave a Reply

