Monkey Bread – April I MADE IT Challenge

I was fortunate enough to host this months ‘I Made It Challenge”’, I settled for Monkey Bread.  I know a few people wonder…how do you get to that, how do you choose something as random as Monkey Bread? It was easy to be honest.  Firstly, I love Monkey Bread, I learnt about it while in the USA, secondly, I found a new product I desperately wanted to try which would fit in with this challenge, and thirdly, I wanted my fellow bloggers to think outside the box.

So I experimented with two different versions of monkey bread, one use a plain bread dough, the other using a sweet biscuit dough, which was store bought.

When you watch American sitcoms, you often see sad, depressed women eating cookie dough, straight from the can, I found a very similar product in my local Spar, which I just HAD to try.  To see if it was the same and all that…

Today’s Biscuit dough comes in 3 different flavours, Vanilla, Chocolate and Ginger, of course I wanted to add a little more depth to my Monkey Bread, so I used the Ginger flavour. This is so easy, that I can’t call it a real recipe!

todays biscuit dough

Ginger, Cinnamon and Nut Monkey Bread

1 packet of Today’s Ginger Biscuit Dough
1 cup brown sugar
3 tbsp ground cinnamon
Roughly chopped ground mixed nuts

Preheat the oven to 180°C

Line a muffin tray with cupcake holders (I got 6 out of this)
Throw away the empty packet of biscuit dough; the instructions on there will not work for this.
Defrost the biscuit dough, cut into small pieces and roll into balls.  You do not want it to big, but you also do not want it to small either.

Roll the balls in the cinnamon sugar mixture, and stack into the muffin cups.

In between the dough balls, sprinkle a few mixed nuts; I love the texture of the nuts between the layers of soft gooeyness.
Bake for 25 – 30 minutes, just until it is nice and golden brown.

Remove from oven, and now the fun starts.   You can glaze it with just icing sugar and butter mixture, or softened cream cheese.

monkey bread muffins

Those who know me, know that sweet treats are not my deal, so I had to make something savoury out of this challenge too!

Pizza Monkey Bread

Basic Pizza dough –  I use the Jamie Oliver Pizza Dough recipe, which is always a winner.
Homemade tomato sauce, which you can find the recipe here
Grated cheese – I used mozzarella and cheddar mixture
Bundt cake pan, greased with butter & flour (or cook n spray if you wish)

Now this is your creative side comes in.
Use your favourite pizza toppings; I had little bowls of already chopped toppings:
Ham, Salami, Mushrooms, Green Peppers, Peppadews, Danish Feta, Basil Pesto, Garlic, Camembert, Green Fig, Blue Cheese etc.

Preheat your oven to 200°C

Pull small balls off the pizza dough, mine weighed anywhere between 30g – 40g, roll them out and fill with your toppings of choice. Roll up the ball again and stack into the pan.

Between each layer, brush on some tomato sauce and sprinkle grated cheddar, the top later I made smaller balls, just to fit the bundt pan.

Once you have layered the bundt cake pan full, bake for 35 – 50 minutes, depending on your oven. Work on as if you were baking a bread from scratch. The time would be more or less the same.

I didn’t manage to get a photo of this one, but it was absolutely delicious, it was small stuffed balls of pizza happiness.

©-I-Made-It-150x150

I will do a round up of all the bloggers that have taken part in the challenge the first of the new month.  There are some great recipes!  There is still time to submit your Monkey Bread recipe!

13 thoughts on “Monkey Bread – April I MADE IT Challenge

  1. Nice one! Or two actually hehe. Sound delish. I have heard of Monkey Bread but never tasted it. Will have to try….I have very intermittent connectivity at the moment and am not even able to upload photos to my blog or anything. Very frustrating. Telkom can’t seem to sort my line out 😦 Well done Ange xx

  2. Thanks for this great recipe, Ange! I just posted my monkey bread and I am thrilled for discovering this jewel of a recipe. This month is my turn to host the I made it challenge… wish me luck! 😉

    • Thanx for letting me host this last month! Was great. There are some great recipes out there now for Monkey Bread.

      Yeah, I am changing it as I am going to start incorporating my catering business into my blog, so needed to change it to be more recognized 🙂

  3. Monkey bread is a popular and long-lasting snack. Many people enjoy monkey bread, and many have made it themselves. Monkey bread is very sweet and has a texture and shaped resembling a very large doughnut. No one knows for sure where monkey bread came from or how long it has been around. Add this to my Recipe Box.

  4. Pingback: I MADE IT April Challenge Round-up | Chef Angeliqueca

  5. PREPARE the sugar coating. Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon together in a bowl. Place the melted butter in a second bowl or shallow pie plate. Set aside. FORM the bread. Gently remove the dough from the bowl and press it into a rough 16 cm square. Using a bench scraper or knife, cut the dough into 64 pieces. ROLL each piece of dough into a ball (it doesn’t have to be perfect, just get it into a rough ball-shape). TAKING one ball at a time, dip in melted butter allowing excess butter to drip back into the bowl or pie plate. Roll the buttered dough ball in the brown sugar mixture, then place in even layers into the Bundt pan. Stagger the seams where the dough balls meet as you build layers. COVER the Bundt pan tightly with plastic wrap and let the monkey bread rise until puffy, about 1-2 hours you can use the warm oven approach again to speed this process up). PREHEAT the oven to 180 C (remove the bundt pan from the oven if you placed it there to rise). UNCOVER the monkey bread and bake until the top is deep brown and caramel begins to bubble around edges, 30 to 35 minutes. COOL in the pan for 5 minutes (any longer and the bread will be too sticky and hard to remove), then turn out on a platter or large plate and allow to cool slightly, about 10 minutes. WHILE the bread cools prepare the glaze. Whisk icing sugar and milk together in a small bowl until smooth. Using a whisk, drizzle the glaze over the warm monkey bread, letting it run over the top and sides of the bread. SERVE warm.

  6. Guess what I did with mine? I misread the instructions and let the dough balls rise an hour before coating them. Totally not a necessary step. BAH. Just a waste of time on my part. Also because of that rise they didn’t quite rise to fill the pan well once in the bundt for the last rise. So they all started to fall apart when the bread was inverted from the pan. Oh well. It was still delicious!

  7. Pingback: Pan de mono | Blue jellybeans

Leave a Reply

