House Lamb Curry

Curries are definitely my thing! I love the aromatic flavours that entice all your senses. I often mix my own curry spices, I have a small collection of different spices that sit in my pantry waiting to be used, now with my recent trip to Durban, I have accumulated a fair amount of new spices.

Finding the Victoria Market downtown Durban was a mission, my poor husband was slightly less thrilled to be on this mission with me, however, he also knows that once I get something in my head, it is best to go along for the ride…most adventures do turn out to be a whole bucket of fun.

I NEEDED to find a spice vendor that would mix my spices, I NEEDED to experience meeting such a spice vendor and truly experiencing what I have only heard or saw on TV, and boy oh boy did I get what I wanted…and more.

This is where I met Joe, from Joe’s Corner Shop at the Victoria Market.  Joe has “prison chubs”  covering his arm and a bandaged foot with a black toe peeping out with no toenail…I didn’t want to ask, so I kept the conversation to spices.

joes corner shop sign

Once Joe found out that we were from the Eastern Cape, he quickly ran (read limped) to the back of the shop asking if we could deliver a parcel for him…my husband and I exchanged looks of “turn and walk away…and do so fast” however Joe realized that his package was actually for the Western Cape and continued with the spices.

20130416_101632

After discussing the different spices Joe offered to make me my own special spice mix, he asked me what flavours I favoured, if I liked it stronger or milder type mix.  I opted for a medium style, as I like hotter, but also know it’s not for everyone) and while he was tossing different spices together, he was calling the names out to me, this only got me more excited, wanting to try my special masala mix as soon as possible.

joe

Last night I got the opportunity…cold wet day out, I decided a “House Lamb Curry” was in order, slowly cooked for 5 hours…the wait was worth every second, I was blown away with the flavours and can honestly say, if you are every visiting the Victoria Market in Durban, stop by Joe’s Corner Shop.  The best part, he also deliver’s worldwide…or so his sign says.

I didn’t need to add much to the spice mix, so this would me more of a recipe idea than a recipe!

Angie’s House Lamb Curry

600g – 900g Lamb Neck / Lamb Knuckle (I used a mix of both, bone in)
1 can whole peeled tomatoes
4 heaped tsp Masala Curry Mix from Joe
1 heaped tsp turmeric powder
2 tsp crushed garlic
2 tsp crushed ginger
1 Knorr beef stock gel
2 cups boiling water
2 large onions
Seasoning
3 medium potatoes, cut into large chunks, skin on

Preheat the oven to 150°C

In a cast iron pot, over a medium heat fry the onions until translucent.  Add the garlic, ginger and spices and fry gently until the oils start splitting from the spices.
Add the meat and brown off
Add the stock gel, water and whole peeled tomatoes.

Cover pot and place in the oven for 3-4 hours to slowly cook.
Add potatoes and cook for a further house until potatoes are soft.

Avoid stirring the pot too much; you don’t want to break up the meat.

lamb house curry

2 thoughts on “House Lamb Curry

Leave a Reply

