Luddite Shiraz – a wine worth mentioning

For those who know me, know my love for wine.  For those who don’t know me…invite me over for a bottle or two of wine and we will surely become great friends.

“Good wine is a necessity of life for me.”

Luddite Shiraz

My husband arrived home one night baring gifts of wine (the best kind of gift), he had been given a bottle of Luddite Shiraz by Neils, the winemaker at Luddite Wines just outside the tiny town of Bot River in the Western Cape, South Africa. Having never heard of the Farm before, I got all excited as it was a new adventure for me.  I jumped onto the internet and started looking for the meaning of “Luddite” I came across some interesting answers…

merriam-webster.com says

Definition of LUDDITE: one of a group of early 19th century English workmen destroying labor saving machinery as a protest; broadly : one who is opposed to especially technological change.

oxforddictionaries.com says

noun

a member of any of the bands of English workers who destroyed machinery, especially in cotton and woolen mills, which they believed was threatening their jobs (1811–16).

derogatory a person opposed to increased industrialization or new technology:a small-minded Luddite resisting progress

Wait…how does this apply to wine? I was also very confused…so I Googled some more and came across the following at Wine Folly

The Luddite

“Just say ‘No’ to screw caps”

The Luddite is unblushing in their love for the old way. Things like screw-caps, wine-in-a-box and fancy plastic aerators make The Luddite shiver in their boots. They can be found wandering down the French, Italian or Spanish wine aisle in search of terroir. They love real books with real pages. Places like Argentina or Napa Valley are far too young –even at 150 years– to earn The Luddite’s approval.

So having finally opened the bottle to enjoy with family over the marvelous lamb shanks, I can definitely recommend this wine to anyone who enjoys a complex wine with a hearty wintery meal.

Visually, the bottle is just stunning, simple design yet striking, I love the hand written details on the side of the label; we had bottle number 12039 or 23000. Followed by the deep red colour with hues of purple when poured, my heat skipped a beat from the visual allure of this wine.

The best part was yet to come. The rich velvet mouth feel on the palate was so decadent, with hints of wood, fruit and slight spice. I was in heaven. Paired with the weighty lamb shank, it was a match made in heaven.

No at no point do I claim to be a wine expert, I simply enjoy wine, and can really appreciate a good bottle of wine.  This wine, I would unquestionably recommend.

You can learn more about  Luddite Wines on their website – http://www.luddite.co.za/

One thought on “Luddite Shiraz – a wine worth mentioning

Leave a Reply

